Davey finally emerges after months of solitary nocturnal pottering in his Headley Garage studio with his second full length LP. Entitled I’m Gonna Burn Out Bright, it’s melancholy lyrical themes of mortality and one’s place in the universe are framed in joyous, brash space-pop melodies, forming a veritable collection of long-lost radio hits of eras current and bygone.

Featuring the symphonic pop of first single ‘Taurus All Apart’, the grandiose pastoral folk of ‘This Is Hell’ (as featured in ABC TV’s upcoming medical drama Pulse), and the XTC-meets-Kate Bush synth-pop of ‘My Apple Lady Cried’, I’m Gonna Burn Out Bright – whilst mainly a solo album in the very sense of the word – also features guests from members of King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Saskwatch, Dorsal Fins and GL and Laura Jean. The record is Davey’s bold love letter to great pop music through the ages, making something concurrently universal and completely his own.

The record will be available digitally, on CD and vinyl, through Capgun Kids on August 18.

Vinyl pre-orders now at


  1. Hell (A Prelude)
  2. Taurus All Apart
  3. My Apple Lady Cried
  4. Biggest Star
  5. Build Our Own Pompeii
  6. Fifteen Years
  7. You Drained My Mynd
  8. Bound To Break Me
  9. 1X-BX
  10. I’ll Forget Yr Name
  11. This Is Hell…
  12. Going Back To The Shadows




In a joyous celebration of female musicianship, acclaimed Melbourne music director, singer and violinist Xani Kolac will bring together a stellar ensemble of female instrumentalists for Stand by Your Woman, a show like no other at Arts Centre Melbourne on Sunday 21 May.

A phenomenal line up of Australian singer-songwriters will be a selection of special guests, joining Xani’s band to perform rearranged versions of their original songs in this wildly entertaining, one-night-only event. Kate Miller-Heidke, Tim Rogers, Kate Ceberano, Tex Perkins, Jen Cloher, Steve Kilbey, Harry Angus and Davey Lane will share the stage—and their favourite tunes—with the most exciting new female talent in Melbourne’s music scene.

Born out of a desire to support and showcase the multitude of talented female musicians in Melbourne, Stand by Your Woman is a passion project of Xani’s: “I remember one moment when I was singing some of my songs in front of an audience there to celebrate female musicians in music. I turned around to the band supporting me and realised that they were all men – awesome, supportive and musical men, of course,” she explains.

“I realised then, too, that I spend most of my time in the music industry playing with men. I wondered what it would be like to turn around and see women playing instruments. So I decided that I was going to make that happen, and that’s how this show was born – I wanted to give some of Australia’s most-loved singers and songwriters the opportunity to turn around and see a band of amazing female instrumentalists,” she added.

The all-female band features a rhythm section, a string quartet, a four-piece horn section and two backing vocalists. Stand by Your Woman is produced by the creative minds behind RocKwiz, The Last Waltz Revisited and Last Night When We Were Young.

Stand by Your Woman
Sunday May 21
Hamer Hall, Arts Centre Melbourne
Tickets on sale Monday 3 April at




Setting the tone for new album I’m Gonna Burn Out Bright, due to be released in August, the first teaser track from the album, I’ll Forget Yr Name, is now available to stream or download.

Davey’s solo project reveals a bolder step toward an psych/prog/cosmo-pop sound and is testament to the pop songwriting smarts he’s honed over years of working with some of the country’s most respected artists. The upbeat I’ll Forget Yr Name is unlike anything Lane has done to date, resplendent with Philly disco strings and swathed in squelching synthesizer and jerky guitars, and with it reveals Lane forging a sound all his own, with one foot in classic pop songwriting, the other stepping into the future. Whilst Davey cares deeply about his music, self-deprecating as ever he isn’t afraid to place his tongue firmly in his cheek.

As Davey embarks on an east coast tour with rockers Wolfmother through April and May, newcomers to Davey’s work can also immerse themselves in songs from his hook-laden back catalogue, with a coinciding release of the compilation  Back/Here/Forward, which features I’ll Forget Yr Name as well as tracks from his previous two EP’s and album (2014’s Atonally Young) as well as the experimental release Duo-Monophonic Explorations, a collaboration with King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard’s Stu Mackenzie and Lane’s You Am I bandmate Tim Rogers.

Leading on from I’ll Forget Yr Name, what can we expect from the album, I’m Gonna Burn Out Bright? Davey explains: “This is a record with left turns and as many different colours, textures and hooks as I could fit in. I guess it’s commercial pop music for the universe I’d like to think I live in – where adhering to a particular style or nodding toward one particular era is irrelevant.”

Take a listen to I’ll Forget Yr Name right now and we think you’ll agree that this burst of sparkling inspiration points the way towards a stunning album and continues an ever ascending career for this talented musical prodigy.

Download here:

Stream the Compilation album here: