Davey finally emerges after months of solitary nocturnal pottering in his Headley Garage studio with his second full length LP. Entitled I’m Gonna Burn Out Bright, it’s melancholy lyrical themes of mortality and one’s place in the universe are framed in joyous, brash space-pop melodies, forming a veritable collection of long-lost radio hits of eras current and bygone.

Featuring the symphonic pop of first single ‘Taurus All Apart’, the grandiose pastoral folk of ‘This Is Hell’ (as featured in ABC TV’s upcoming medical drama Pulse), and the XTC-meets-Kate Bush synth-pop of ‘My Apple Lady Cried’, I’m Gonna Burn Out Bright – whilst mainly a solo album in the very sense of the word – also features guests from members of King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard, Saskwatch, Dorsal Fins and GL and Laura Jean. The record is Davey’s bold love letter to great pop music through the ages, making something concurrently universal and completely his own.

The record will be available digitally, on CD and vinyl, through Capgun Kids on August 18.

Vinyl pre-orders now at


  1. Hell (A Prelude)
  2. Taurus All Apart
  3. My Apple Lady Cried
  4. Biggest Star
  5. Build Our Own Pompeii
  6. Fifteen Years
  7. You Drained My Mynd
  8. Bound To Break Me
  9. 1X-BX
  10. I’ll Forget Yr Name
  11. This Is Hell…
  12. Going Back To The Shadows



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *